County Commissioners

userway ADA
The county commissioners act as the governing body of the county. They are elected at large to four year terms, and enact policies such as the establishment of the property tax rate and the adoption of the budget. They adopt ordinances or local laws that affect citizens living in unincorporated Eagle County.

The commissioners meet every Monday and Tuesday, with the exception of legal holidays and regularly-scheduled, off-site conferences, in the Eagle County Room at 500 Broadway in Eagle.

All commission meetings are open to the public with the exception of executive sessions, and public comment is taken during the Tuesday session. Comments may be limited to items listed on the agenda. BoCC meetings (and much more) are televised in HD on Comcast channel 18 in the Vail/Eagle valley, Comcast channel 19 in the Roaring Fork Valley, and streamed live at, where all meetings are also available to watch on-demand anytime.

Appointment Resolution: Resolution outlining commissioner and staff appointments for the year.

MattScherrMatt Scherr
District 1
(970) 328-8625

Matt has been commissioner for Eagle County District 1 since February 2019. He brings a vision for the role of government in reflecting and realizing our shared values as a community. This vision is a result of his past work in the nonprofit sector, service on nonprofit and local government boards and committees, and time on the Minturn town council, including as mayor. Living in Eagle County gives Matt a keen awareness of the need to address the climate crisis and to preserve our environment and natural resources. He also believes those solutions are just part of enabling the elements of a vibrant economy, including a healthy and mobile workforce, exceptional public education, access to quality childcare, adequate housing, economic enhancement and diversification, and work opportunities at the scale of our cost of living. As commissioner, Matt represents Eagle County on regional transit solutions through the I-70 Coalition and other organizations, and on climate issues as the current president of Colorado Communities for Climate Action. Matt still shares a passion for life and community in Minturn with his wife Diana and their two kids.

KathyChandlerHenryKathy Chandler-Henry
District 2
(970) 390-3104

Kathy Chandler-Henry represents District 2 and was appointed in July of 2013 and ran in 2014 to fill the final 3 and-a-half years of a previous Commissioner's term. She was elected to her second four-year term in 2020. She’s a fourth-generation Coloradan with a love of open spaces, clean air and water. She values the western themes of independence, hard work and community service.

Kathy is the county’s representative to the Water Quality/Quantity Committee, Ruedi Reservoir Water and Power Authority, the EGE Air Alliance, and the Colorado River Water Conservation District Board of Directors. She is Vice President of the National Association of Counties' Public Land Steering Committee, and Treasurer of Colorado Counties, Inc.

Kathy worked for Colorado Mountain College for more than 20 years and is a small business owner of Black Diamond Research and Brush Creek Electric, Inc. Her education, training, work history, personal background, and knowledge of the county all contribute to her passion for county government and public service.

In addition to being a small business owner, facilitator and former teacher, she served as vice-chair of the Home Rule Commission in 2006 and has volunteered extensively in local elections and community organizations. She and her husband George raised their children in Eagle County and are grateful every day for the opportunity to live and serve here. Her belief about public service is summed up in this John Ruskin quote: “What we think or what we know or what we believe is of little consequence. The only thing of consequence is what we do.”

JeanneMcQueeneyJeanne McQueeney
District 3
(970) 471-0635

Jeanne McQueeney began her term as Commissioner of District 3 in January 2015. Jeanne represents Eagle County on the Northwest Colorado Council of Governments, the Eagle County Regional Transportation Authority, and the Golden Eagle Elderly Housing Corporation. Jeanne also serves as the chair of the Roaring Fork Transportation Authority and was governor-appointed to the Early Childhood Leadership Commission in 2016.

Jeanne has a master's degree in Early Childhood Special Education and a bachelor's degree in Elementary Education. Jeanne’s career includes seven years on the Eagle County School Board, 13 years teaching, and seven years providing technical assistance to early childhood programs. She was the founder and Executive Director of Early Childhood Partners, a nonprofit serving the county's early childhood community.

Jeanne has served on numerous local nonprofit boards, coalitions and service clubs including the Eagle River Youth Coalition, Caring for Kids, Rocky Mountain Early Childhood Council, Vail Rotary, The Health Services Advisory Council, Wayfinders, The Healthy Eating Active Living Community Coalition, The Family Leadership Training Institute, and the InteGreat! Coalition.

A resident of Eagle County for 26 years, Jeanne was born in Brooklyn, New York and raised on Long Island. Jeanne has been married to her high school sweetheart, Harry McQueeney, since 1985 and together they have raised two wonderful children here in Eagle County.

Commissioner Districts

In December of 2021, the county commissioners approved new commissioner districts through Resolution R21-104. State statute requires the periodic revision of commissioner districts based on federal census numbers to ensure that districts are as nearly equal in population as possible. A map and legal description of the redrawn districts is included with the resolution, and a detailed commissioner district boundaries map may be accessed at the link below.

Commissioners are elected at large for four-year staggered terms, though each must live in the geographic district for which he/she is running. Eagle County commissioners are limited to serving three four-year terms.

A map of commissioner districts can be found on the GIS Map Viewer. Various search and detail options are available once you're on the viewer. If you need additional information regarding commissioners districts, please contact the Clerk's Office at 970-328-8715. Contact the GIS Department at 970-328-3552 for assistance with the map viewer.
ecg tv