County offices closed June 19 for Juneteenth Day

Las oficinas del condado cerradas el 19 de junio por Juneteenth

userway ADA

Rhea Silverkorn

Executive Coordinator



This news release has been corrected to reflect that all Voting Centers will be open on June 19, 2024. 


June 13, 2024 – Eagle County Government offices, including the Avon and El Jebel satellite offices, will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, in observance of Juneteenth Day.  


On June 19, 1865, two years after President Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation and months after the Civil War ended, Major General Gordon Granger took command of Union troops in Galveston, Texas. General Granger went to Texas to enforce the emancipation of an estimated 250,000 enslaved Americans and oversee Reconstruction. His presence signaled that America would not relent until the last enslaved people in America were free. 


“Observing the Juneteenth holiday, when the last slaves in America finally learned of their freedom, recognizes the need to acknowledge our past and rededicate ourselves to the cause of freedom,” said Eagle County Commissioner Matt Scherr.


  • The Eagle County landfill will remain open. 
  • County offices and facilities will resume regular hours on June 20. 
  • Emergency services are always available by calling 911.
  • For non-emergencies, call Dispatch (Vail Public Safety Communications) at 970-479-2201.
  • The Road & Bridge Department will be on call at 970-479-2200 in cases of emergency.
  • ECO Transit bus routes will operate on their regular schedules.


Vote Centers in Eagle, El Jebel, and the Avon Municipal Building will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. this holiday.  

  • The Eagle Vote Center is at the main Eagle County Building at 500 Broadway.
  • The El Jebel Vote Center is at the EC El Jebel Building at 20 EJ Road.
  • The Avon Vote Center is at the Town of Avon Municipal Building, not at the main C&R office next to Bob's Place. 
  • Motor Vehicle, Recording, and Liquor services will not be open on this county holiday, only Voter Services (required by law).
ecg tv