The Eagle County Board of County Commissioners act as the Local Liquor Licensing Authority for businesses located in unincorporated Eagle County. Administration of such liquor licenses and permits is performed by the Clerk & Recorder’s Office.
For information on obtaining a liquor license in unincorporated Eagle County or to schedule an appointment, contact Kathy Scriver, Deputy Clerk to the Board & Liquor License Coordinator.
For licensing within incorporated towns, please contact the Town Clerk's Office in which the business is located.
Town of Eagle: (970) 328-9623
Town of Avon: (970) 748-4001
Town of Vail: (970) 479-2460
Town of Minturn: (970) 827-5645
Town of Gypsum: (970) 524-1738
New Licenses and Transfers of Ownership
To apply for either a new liquor license or to transfer ownership of an existing license, you will need to complete the following forms that apply to your circumstance. Following the Applicant Checklist will be helpful in determining whether you have a complete application and are submitting the required documentation.
- DR 8404 Colorado Liquor Retail License Application
- DR 8403 Colorado Beer and Wine License Application
- Distance Affidavit
- Applicant Checklist
- Food Service Affidavit (hotel & restaurant licenses only)
- DR 8404-I Individual History Record
- Alcohol Management Plan
- Affidavit of Transfer (transfers of ownership only)
- Temporary Request Form (transfers of ownership only)
- Petition (new licenses only)
- DR 8004 Wholesaler Affidavit of Compliance
With your completed application, you will need to submit the appropriate fees for both the state and local license.
A fingerprint-based criminal history record check is required by all persons applying for a new liquor license, a transfer of ownership, or a manager’s registration. Applicants will be required to pre-enroll and schedule an appointment to have their fingerprints taken and submitted electronically to CBI for processing using the IdentoGO website.
The entire process for a new license or to transfer ownership of an existing license can take anywhere from 60 to 90 days. To expedite this process, it is recommended that new license applicants request for concurrent review by the state. It is also recommended that transfer of ownership applicants request a temporary permit be issued by the county. The cost for either of these is an additional $100 each.
It is highly recommended that you call or schedule an appointment with Kathy Scriver firstname.lastname@example.org before submitting your application as there are many requirements that need to be met. Failure to meet any of these requirements could delay processing of the application.
Colorado Special Event Liquor Permits Code
A Special Event Permit allows a qualified non-profit entity (i.e. permit holder) to serve alcoholic beverages in conjunction with fundraising events. The permit holder is responsible for the purchase and sale of alcohol and is entitled to all of the proceeds from alcohol sales. A permit holder and an event promoter may agree on a charge for an area or space used for alcohol sales within the event boundary.
Permit holders may not sell alcoholic beverages in sealed containers or allow removal of alcoholic beverages from the licensed premise. Sandwiches or other food snacks shall be available during all hours of service of malt, spirituous, or vinous liquors, but prepared meals need not be served.
Each permit is issued for a specific location and is not valid for any other location.
The local licensing authority shall not issue a special event permit to any organization for more than fifteen days in one calendar year.
If an event is canceled, the application fee and the day(s) requested will be forfeited.
The Local Licensing Authority may deny the issuance of a Special Event Permit upon the grounds that the issuance would be injurious to the public welfare because of the nature of the event or the failure of an applicant to conduct past events in compliance with applicable laws.
All applications must be received by the Clerk and Recorder’s Office at least 30 days prior to the date of the event to allow for timely processing. Failure to do so will result in your application being denied.
Obtaining a Special Event Permit
The fee for a special event permit is $100 per application. Please make your check payable to Eagle County Clerk. No cash payments may be accepted.
You may download the following forms or visit the Clerk’s Office for an application packet.
- DR 8439 - Special Event Permit Application
- Special Events Checklist
- Law Enforcement Notification Form
- Special Events Alcohol Management Plan
Complete applications may be mailed or hand delivered. Applications that are faxed or emailed will not be accepted unless previous arrangements have been made with the Clerk’s Office.
All liquor licenses (state and county) must be renewed annually. Approximately 90 days prior to license expiration, the Colorado Department of Revenue will mail out renewal forms. If you do not receive the forms at least 30 days prior, please reach out to Kathy Scriver at email@example.com.
If your mailing address has changed please fill out the DR 8009 and submit it to the Clerk’s Office ASAP.
If you need a new renewal form please fill out the DR 8400.
Renewal applications must be received by the Clerk’s Office at least 30 days prior to the expiration date. A $500 late fee may be charged by both the state and local licensing authority.
All licensees possessing a Hotel and Restaurant or a Tavern License are required to register their managers with local and state authorities. Should your designated manager change, you must notify Eagle County within five days and register a new manager within 30 days.
To register a manager, complete the following form and submit it to the Clerk’s Office. The fee is $30 to both the state and local licensing authority.
A fingerprint-based criminal history record check is required by all persons applying for a new liquor license, transfer of ownership, or in some cases, a corporate report of changes. Applicants will be required to pre-enroll and schedule an appointment to have their fingerprints submitted electronically to CBI for processing using the IdentoGO website.
Instructions for Background checks, service code, OCA and Privacy Act Statement
Eagle County requires that all employees serving, selling, or dispensing alcoholic beverages be trained through one of the following approved programs:
- T.I.P.S. (Training for Intervention Procedures by Servers of Alcohol)
- Gettips (Web Based Program)
- ServSafeAlcohol (Serving Alcohol Responsibly)
Employees must be certified within 30 days of hire, and training must be repeated every three years.
Although the web based course is accepted for new hires in a pinch, it is not accepted by the state and does not satisfy the requirement for those participating in tastings. It is highly recommended that employees new to the business register for a class course.
State Approved Vendor List
Complete a DR 8442 if you are requesting a duplicate license, retail-warehouse storage permit, trade name change, modification of the license premise, or changing location. Please make sure that all supporting documents are submitted with the application.
Complete a DR 8177 if you wish to add or remove officers, directors (corporation) or managing members (LLC) or general partner(s). Please make sure that all supporting documents are submitted with the application.
Please take time to review the LED - Bulletin 22-03 to determine eligibility.
Colorado Department of Revenue/Liquor Licensing - Links
Colorado Department of Revenue Liquor Enforcement Division
1707 Cole Boulevard, Suite 300 Lakewood, Colorado 80401
Phone: (303) 205-2300
- Street Officer's Guide to Liquor & Tobacco Enforcement in Colorado
- Information for Licensed Liquor Businesses
- DOR Liquor Division PayPort Online Service
- Colorado Department of Revenue Liquor Enforcement/Home
- Colorado Department of Revenue/Liquor Bulletin Board
- Colorado Department of Revenue/Liquor Forms By Number or Title