Personal Property

Personal Property

userway ADA
In addition to real property valuations, the Assessor is required by Colorado State Statutes to value all personal property for taxation purposes.

  • Business personal property includes machinery, fixtures, equipment including leasehold improvements specific to business purposes used for the production of income. C.R.S. 39-1-102(11)
  • Residential personal property includes household furnishings, artwork, free standing appliances & security systems found in private homes that are rented as short term vacation type rentals. C.R.S. 39-1-102(6)
  • Renewable Energy includes those systems producing two megawatts or less for commercial use. C.R.S. 39-5-104.7

By April 15 of every year, businesses with a total actual value greater than $52,000 are required to submit a declaration listing all owned assets as of January 1, along with information regarding their original date and cost of acquisition. If your business is new to Eagle County or you have never filed a personal property declaration, please submit a declaration listing all of your company’s machinery, equipment, furniture and other personal property. If your business value is less than $52,000, we request that you continue to submit a declaration yearly. This ensures that your business or rental will be considered as non-taxable for the current assessment year.

Even if assets were disposed of after January 1, they must be declared. Current Colorado law does not provide for prorated assessments. Our Personal Property Analyst reviews the information provided and a value is calculated for each business. A Notice of Valuation is mailed to the taxpayer by June 15. If the property owner disagrees with the value, they have the opportunity to appeal the assessment. Appeal instructions are included with the Notice of Valuation.

Submit Your Declaration by April 15

Submit your declaration by email - A scanned copy of the declaration schedule, along with an asset listing, may be emailed to

Mail a hard copy to Eagle County Assessor’s Office, P.O. Box 449, Eagle, CO 81631. The declaration schedule must be postmarked by April 15th to be considered timely filed. An asset list, spreadsheet, and/or Federal Depreciation Schedule may be attached to the form.

Submit by fax to 970-328-8667.

The following declaration forms are downloadable:

For more information on personal property in Colorado visit the Colorado Department of Local Affairs Website.

For more information or assistance with filling out a declaration, call the Eagle County Personal Property Analyst, Monica Jacox at 970-328-8640.
ecg tv