Sustainable Communities

Contact Us

  • Phone: 970-328-8766

    Sustainable Communities
    P.O. Box 850
    500 Broadway
    Eagle, Colorado 81631-0850



Eco-Build Fund and Community Grants

The Eco-Build Fund was created in 2006 when the original Eco-Build efficient building regulations were adopted as part of Section 4-480 and 4-490 in the Eagle County Land Use Regulations.  The fund can only be used to support energy efficiency and renewable energy projects in Eagle County.  Since its inception, over $1.2 million in community grants, solar rebates, and energy efficiency rebates have been distributed into our community.  Some of the community grant projects the Eco-Build Fund has supported include:

  • Western Eagle County Recreation District Field House Energy Efficiency improvements and 20-kw solar
  • Walking Mountains Science Center LEED Platinum energy innovation
  • EagleVail Pool solar PV and solar thermal systems
  • Habitat for Humanity energy improvements to achieve LEED Gold Certification
  • Town of Eagle efficient furnace replacement
  • Commercial solar installations at Rader Engineering, George Shaeffer Construction, LGM Design, Vail Mountain Coffee and Tea Co., and Minturn Saloon
  • Over 150 residential solar systems

All Eco-Build expenditure requests are considered by an advisory Eco-Build Committee who makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners. The Eco-Build Committee meets quarterly and consists of community volunteers.  Current Eco-Build Committee members are as follows:

  • Megan Gilman
  • Seth Bossung
  • Kyle Hoiland
  • Bruce Norring
  • Taylor Critchlow
  • Kim Langmaid
  • Mike Villella

Application and review criteria for Eco-Build funding can be found on the Eco-Build Community Grants Application