Sheriff

Contact Us


Concealed Handgun Permits

Most citizens find that their specific needs for carrying a concealed handgun while in their home, business or private vehicle fall within the current law without needing a permit. If you would like to carry a concealed handgun on your person (for example, in your pocket, purse, coat, etc.) you will need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP). 

Applications are accepted Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., at the Sheriff’s Office main location, 885 E. Chambers Ave in Eagle.
Incomplete applications will not be accepted. 

Concealed Handgun Permit Application  

Basic Requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years of age (18 years of age for a temporary emergency permit).
  • Reside or own property, or own or lease real property for a business in Eagle County, or be a member of the armed forces and stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this state.
  • Provide proof of residency by submitting a copy of a valid Colorado driver's license or valid Colorado or military photo identification. If address on identification is not correct, you must provide another proof of address (i.e. utility bill, mortgage statement, bank statement, etc.). Per C.R.S. 42-2-119, you have 30 days to notify the Department of Motor Vehicle of an address or name change.
  • Pass a background check. The purpose of the background check is to determine if all required paperwork was submitted, and whether the applicant meets all criteria specified in C.R.S. 18-12-203. Regardless of whether the applicant meets the criteria specified, if the sheriff has reasonable belief that documented previous behavior by the applicant makes it likely the applicant will present a danger to self or others, the sheriff may deny the permit.
  • Pay two non-refundable processing fees to cover the costs associated with fingerprinting and background checks. These fees are due upon submission of the completed application.
  • Demonstrate competence with a handgun by submitting a copy of an acceptable firearms safety and proficiency training course. One of the following must be provided

In addition to the completed application form, you must submit:

  • A $52.50 processing fee in the form of a cashier’s check or money order, made payable to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI). This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check. The background check is required for all regular civilian applicants. 
  • A $100 processing fee in the form of a cashier’s check, money order or cash, made payable to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. This fee pays for forms, ID cards, local criminal history checks and administrative costs.
  • Proof of residency. (Colorado driver’s license, Colorado ID card or Military ID card and duty orders)
  • Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in section 18-12-203 (1) (h) of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
  • Two completed fingerprint cards ($15 fee, payable to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office). It is required that all applicants be fingerprinted to conduct a thorough background investigation and comply with state laws.

Fingerprints and photographs may be taken at the time of application.

Renewal Applications:

• A $13.00 processing fee in the form of a cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI). This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check, and an instacheck (NICS) per statute.
• A 25.00 processing fee in the form of cash, or check (personal, cashier’s, or money order) made out to Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. This fee pays for forms, permit card, local criminal history checks, and other administrative costs.
• Proof of Residency. Valid Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID card, or Duty Orders indicating residency in Eagle County.
• Photograph. The Sheriff’s Office will take, and maintain the photograph of the applicant.
-Applicants can re-apply four months prior to expiration. 

Expired CHP Renewal Process:
-If expired less than four months:

• A $13.00 processing fee in the form of a cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI). This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check, and an instacheck (NICS) per statute.
• A $40.00 processing fee in the form of cash, or check (personal, cashier’s, or money order) made out to Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. This fee pays for forms, permit card, local criminal history checks, and other administrative costs. 
• Proof of Residency. Valid Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID card, or Duty Orders indicating residency in Eagle County.
• Photograph. The Sheriff’s Office will take, and maintain the photograph of the applicant.

-If expired more than six months, refer to New Application process. 

Lost / Stolen/ Change of Address - CHP Process:

If your CHP is lost/stolen, damaged or in need of a change of address, you can visit our main office in Eagle in person or you will need to proceed with the steps below and print off and complete the following form:

ADDRESS CHANGE / PERMIT LOST OR DESTROYED FORM

  • The above form must be notarized and mailed to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office, c/o CHP, PO Box 359, Eagle, CO 81631 and must include processing fee payment. 
  • A $15.00 processing fee in the form of a check (personal, cashier's check or money order) made out to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office. 
    (This fee pays for forms, permit card, and other administrative costs).
  • Allow up to 14 business days for a replacement to be issued.
  • You will receive a phone call you when your new CHP is ready to be picked up at our main office in Eagle with Identification.
  • If you would like your replacement CHP mailed to you, an additional $12.00 is required for certified restricted mailing.  
  • If you live in the Basalt/Carbondale/El Jebel area, please call 970-328-8500 for mailing price.