Environmental Health

Contact Us

  • Phone: 970-328-9813
    Fax: 970-328-8788

    Environmental Health
    P.O. Box 179
    500 Broadway
    Eagle, Colorado 81631-0179 


Eagle County Environmental Health recognizes poster contest winners

Contact: Terri Vroman, Environmental Health at 970-328-8755 or terri.vroman@eaglecounty.us

Eagle County’s Environmental Health Department recently recognized 25 fourth grade students during the 22nd annual Earth Day Poster Contest awards ceremony on April 24.

Each year, the department hosts the contest to bring awareness to local elementary students about specific environmental issues. This year’s theme was “Actively Green for Clean Air.” Staff visited schools during the month of April to conduct presentations on the theme. Students then created posters based on their knowledge from the presentation.

“Engaging kids in environmental stewardship is truly the gift that keeps on giving,” said Ray Merry, Director of Environmental Health. “Kids are our future and what they learn today translates into a better place to live. This cycle must never end.”

Environmental Health would like to thank the following sponsors for their contributions to the prizes for the contest: Actively Green Team, Capitol Theater Group, Cliff Simonton, City Market, Costco, Eagle Embroidery, ECO Transportation, Energy Smart Team, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Town of Basalt, Town of Gypsum, Tunnel 23 Concepts, and WECMRD.

Winners were recognized from each of the following participating elementary schools.

1st Place - Emma Day
2nd Place - Carla Soto
3rd Place - Fatima Bonilla

Eagle Elementary
1st Place - Shelbi Lubbers
2nd Place - Andrea Grewe
3rd Place - Jenna McMurtry

Edwards Elementary
1st Place - Brody Cyphers
2nd Place - Mariano Tellez
3rd Place - Nicolas O’Connell

Homestake Peak
1st Place - Becky Gomez
2nd Place - Rebecca Wilson
3rd Place - Daisy Alarcon

June Creek Elementary
1st Place - Maria Cruz
2nd Place - Martha Jimenez
3rd Place - Tom Allen

Red Hill Elementary
1st Place - Erika Favela
2nd Place - Nayely Varela
3rd Place - Noel (Sharon) Somogyi

Red Sandstone Elementary
1st Place - Destinee Grajeda
2nd Place - Davis Page
3rd Place - Riley Belim

Saint Clare Elementary
1st Place - Lauren Hilty
2nd Place - Ryan Downey
3rd Place - Carly Post

Grand Prize Winner
Tyler Ribich, Basalt Elementary