Environmental Health

Contact Us

  • Phone: 970-328-9813
    Fax: 970-328-8788

    Environmental Health
    P.O. Box 179
    500 Broadway
    Eagle, Colorado 81631-0179 


Eagle County Environmental Health recognizes 2013 poster contest winners

Contact: Terri Vroman Environmental Health at 970-328-8755 or terri.vroman@eaglecounty.us.

Eagle County’s Environmental Health Department recently recognized 29 fourth grade students during the 23rd annual Earth Day Poster Contest awards ceremony on April 22.

Each year, the department hosts the contest to bring awareness to local elementary students about specific environmental issues. This year’s theme was “Actively Green for Water Conservation.” Staff visited schools during the month of April to conduct presentations on the theme. Students then created posters based on their knowledge from the presentation.

The winning entry is displayed in the Eagle County building by Eagle County’s Actively Green program, which encourages a culture of preserving and reducing human effects on the local environment.

More than 200 fourth graders from 10 schools across the county participated in the contest. The ten first place winners were awarded a raft trip for two with Timberline Tours. The grand prize winner, Willa Healey, took home a Weston Snowboard donated by Weston Snowboards of Minturn who make snowboards in part from beetle-killed Lodgepole Pine.

Environmental Health would like to thank the following sponsors for their contributions to the prizes for the contest: Timberline Tours, Weston Snowboards, Eagle County Conservation District, Pazzo’s, Village Market, Cliff Simonton, Eagle County Fair & Rodeo, Gypsum Recreation Center and Eagle County.

Winners were recognized from each of the following participating elementary schools.

Brush Creek
1st Place – Aidan Duffy
2nd Place – Nya Norling
3rd Place – Callie Rounds

Eagle Elementary
1st Place – Maria Martinez Hurtado
2nd Place – Anthony Nudell
3rd Place – Mauricio Ornelas

Edwards Elementary
1st Place – Emma Jane Reeder
2nd Place – Drew Schuering
3rd Place – Stephanie Delgado

Gypsum Elementary
1st Place – Esteban Montoya
2nd Place – Abraham Ruiz
3rd Place – Alex Ramos

Homestake Peak
1st Place – Tahairi Valles

June Creek Elementary
1st Place – Maddie Qualman
2nd Place – Emma Borel
3rd Place – Zachary Cecil Hoerl

Red Hill Elementary
1st Place – Isabel Royer
2nd Place – Savannah Dominguez
3rd Place – Jimena Granados

Red Sandstone Elementary
1st Place – Layla Sasser
2nd Place – Hannah Mech
3rd Place – Avery May

Stone Creek Elementary - Edwards
1st Place – Rebecca Schifanelli
2nd Place – Katie Mei Gibbs
3rd Place – Jenna Humphries

Stone Creek Elementary - Gypsum
1st Place – Adriana Arana
2nd Place – James Garcia
3rd Place – Jazlyn Caballero

Grand Prize Winner
Willa Healey, Gypsum Elementary