Sheriff

Contact Us

  • Phone: 970-328-8500
    Fax: 970-328-1448

    Sheriff's Office
    0885 E Chambers Avenue
    P.O. Box 359
    Eagle, Colorado 81631

    info@sheriff.eagle.co.us

    Find us on Facebook


FAQ

 

1. How can I get a copy of a case report? 

2. How much does it cost for a copy of a case report? 

3. Which case reports require the $20 extensive research fee?   

4. How long will it take to receive a case report once I have made a formal request for the report? 

5. Can I have a friend pick up a report for me or do I need to be present? 

6. Can you fax or email me a copy of my case report? 

7. Where can I get a copy of a case report if I am a defendant in an active case? 

8. How do I go about claiming my property? 

9. I turned in a bike I found. If it isn't claimed, can I have it? 

 

 

1. How can I get a copy of a case report?

Fill out the records request form located on the Records page.  The completed form must be returned to us with a copy of the requester’s driver’s license and advance payment. (Return to top)   

 

2. How much does it cost for a copy of case report?

$5 for a report up to 50 pages.  Anything over 50 pages is an additional $.50 per page. A $20 extensive research fee may also be charged. (Return to top) 

 

3. Which case reports require the $20 extensive research fee?   

  • Cases over 3 years old
  • Supplemental Reports
  • Reports with multiple offenders (Return to top) 

 

4. How long will it take to receive a case report once I have made a formal request for the report?

If you make a walk-in request at the office we will attempt to process the report request while you wait.  If the report requires extensive research or is stored off-site, we may require up to 72 hours, as permitted by Colorado State Statute. (Return to top)   

 

5. Can I have a friend pick up a case report for me or do I need to be present?

The only way that someone else can pick up a report for you is if you specify their name and that they will be picking up the report on your report request form. The individual will be required to show a Drivers License or government issued photo idenfitication card at the time of pick up. (Return to top) 

 

6. Can you fax or email me a case copy of my report?

We do not fax copies of reports for any reason. We will however email a copy of a report if you fill out a report request and provide a copy of your Drivers License or governement issued photo identification card. (Return to top) 

 

7. Where can I get a copy of a case report if I am a defendant in an active case?

The Eagle County Sheriffs Office will not release reports to anyone listed as a Defendant in an active/open case that is less than a year old. If you are listed as a Defendant you may be able to obtain a copy of the report you are requesting at the District Attorneys Office.  You can reach them at 970-328-6947. (Return to top) 

 

8. How do I go about claiming my property?

Contact the Evidence Vault at 970-328-8576, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Thursday, to make an appointment. (Return to top)  

 

9. I turned in a bike I found. If it isn't claimed, can I have it?

Found property is held for 90 days. If property is not claimed, the finder can have the property if approved by the sheriff or his representative. (Return to top)