Clerk and Recorder

Contact Us


Title and Register Vehicle

As of March 1, 2011, all vehicle owners are required to declare their intent for a Colorado Certificate of Title to be issued in Joint Tenancy with Right of Survivorship or Tenants in Common. All owners must be present or complete the DR2395 Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship Acknowledgement of Intent form.

  • Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship is defined as: A form of legal co-ownership of property (also known as survivorship). At the death of one co-owner, the surviving co-owner becomes sole owner of the property. Transfer of ownership requires copy of death certificate and signature of survivor.
  • Tenancy in Common is defined as: The equal or unequal holding of property by two or more persons. At the death of one co-owner, the deceased share of the property goes to his/her estate and is to be divided according to his/her will or the law in the absence of a will. Transfer of ownership requires documents appointing a personal representative for the decedent.

Vehicle purchased from a Colorado dealer

To title or register your vehicle you will need the following:

  • Title or certificate of origin
  • Standard sales tax receipt
  • Odometer disclosure statement if the vehicle is less than ten years  old.  Most titles have a section on the title for odometer disclosure statement
  • Completed applicable application for title (Form DR-2395)
  • Original or certified copy of security agreement if financed
  • Other documents depending on the specific deal.  Call 970-328-8729 (Eagle), 970-328-9670 (Avon), 970-328-9570 (El Jebel) for details.
  • Bring to the office your Title Complete Notice and proof of insurance to register the vehicle
  • Identification is required to complete a title and/or registration transaction

Reminder: There is no grace period on a temporary permit.

Note: If you paid cash for the vehicle, the dealer will likely send the paperwork directly to you, usually by certified mail.  Bring those documents to title your vehicle and proof of insurance to register your vehicle. If vehicle is financed or leased, Colorado dealers will forward paperwork directly to this office, and you will be mailed a Title Complete Notice. 

Vehicle purchased from an individual
Vehicles must be titled and registered within 60 days of purchase or late fees apply.  Late fees are $25 per month up to a maximum of $100.  To title or register your vehicle you will need the following:

  • Title 
  • Bill of sale indicating purchase price
  • If the title is issued by a state other than Colorado, a VIN inspection (Form DR-2698) must be completed by a Colorado law enforcement officer or Colorado licensed dealer. Fees apply.
  • Odometer disclosure statement if vehicle is less than ten years old.  Most titles have a section on the title for odometer disclosure statement
  • Current proof of insurance to register vehicle
  • Identification is required to complete a title and/or registration transaction

Vehicle purchased from an out-of-state dealer
Vehicles purchased and registered in Colorado will be assessed late fees 61 days after the purchase date if the vehicle is not registered.  Late fees are $25 per month up to a maximum of $100.  To title or register your vehicle you will need the following:

  • Title or certificate of origin
  • Proof that state sales tax was paid, or we will collect sales taxes
  • Purchase order from dealer showing purchase price
  • A VIN Inspection (Form DR-2698) must be completed by a Colorado law enforcement officer or Colorado licensed dealer. Fees apply.
  • Odometer disclosure statement  if the vehicle is less than ten years  old.  Most titles have a section on the title for odometer disclosure statement.
  • Original or certified copy of security agreement, if financed
  • Proof of insurance required to register vehicle
  • Identification is required to complete a title and/or registration transaction

Reminder: There is no grace period on a temporary permit. 

Sales Tax Rates

  •  If vehicle is purchased outside Eagle County, only 2.9 percent state sales tax is due 
  •  If vehicle is purchased inside Eagle County but not inside a municipality, then 2.9 percent state sales tax and 1.5 percent county sales tax are due 
  •  If vehicle is purchased inside Eagle County and inside a municipality, then 2.9 percent state sales tax, 1.5 percent county sales tax and applicable city sales taxes are due.  This means buyer and seller live in the same     jurisdiction 
  •  If vehicle is purchased outside the State of Colorado, 2.9 percent sales taxes are due unless taxes were paid to the other state.  Proof of sales taxes paid is required. 
  •  Leased vehicles – the same sales taxes apply except for residents of Vail an additional 4 percent sales tax is due and paid directly to the Town of Vail.  Contact them directly at 970-479-2125. 
  •  Leased vehicles – the same sales taxes apply except for residents of Avon an additional 4 percent sales tax is due and paid directly to the Town of Avon.  Contact them directly at 970-748-4000.
  •  Residents of the Town of Basalt must pay 0.8 percent sales tax for Regional Transportation Authority regardless of where the vehicle is purchased; residents of unincorporated Roaring Fork Valley (El Jebel, parts of Basalt and Carbondale) must pay 0.6 percent sales tax for Regional Transportation Authority regardless of where the vehicle was purchased. 

To file a lien against the vehicle, submit the following:

  •  Title papers from one of the scenarios listed above 
  • VIN inspection (DR-2698) if the title is issued by a state other than Colorado, a VIN inspection must be completed by a Colorado law enforcement officer or Colorado licensed dealer. Fees apply.  
  •  Original or certified copy security agreement (promissory note, chattel mortgage, etc) signed by all owners of the vehicle 
  •  Title fee of $7.20. 
  •  Filing fee of $5/per page ($10 page if the security agreement is larger than a legal size document) 
  •  Checks should be made payable to Eagle County Clerk 
  • Completed and signed application for title (Form DR-2395)
  •  Documents submitted must be original, and taxes, filing fees and title fee must accompany the documents 
  •  For further information or with questions, please call the Clerk and Recorder’s office 

Secure and Verifiable Identification

  •  Secure and verifiable identification required on all title and new registrations 
  • Only the owner of record or the lienholder of record can apply for a title. If you are not the owner, a motor vehicle power of attorney (DR2175) signed by the owner(s) is required.
  •  Any Colorado Driver License or Colorado Identification Card expired less than one year.  Temporary paper license with previous driver's license acceptable. 
  •  Out-of-state issued photo driver license or photo identification expired less than one year 
  •  US passport expired less than ten years 
  •  Valid foreign passport with I-94 or valid Processed Form I551 stamps.  No B1, B2, WT, WB, CP or NC status.  H1, H2, J1, J2, F1, F2 etc requires verification of Colorado employment or education. 
  •  Valid I551 Resident Alien/Permanent Resident card.  No border crosser or USA B1/B2 Visa/BCC cards 
  •  Valid I688 Temporary Resident Card, I688B and I766 Employment Authorization Card 
  •  Valid US Military ID (active duty, dependent, retired, reserve and National Guard) 
  •  Tribal Identification Card 
  •  Certificate of Naturalization with intact photo 
  •  Certificate of US Citizenship with intact photo